Source for Sharp LCD series TV's

dwsmith01
New User

Jan 11, 2006, 5:12 PM

Post #1 of 7 (4464 views)
Shortcut
Source for Sharp LCD series TV's Can't Post

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, andhope to learn a lot from it. Anyway, I have a Sharp LC-20SH1U that has a broken LCD panel. The TV still works as far as audio and video drive, but the panel is damaged and needs replacing. I have a lot of experience repairing consumer electronic equipment, so this repair shouldn't be and issue, however I have been unable to locate the replacement panel.

I tried Sharp US, but because the TV is built in Japan, there appears to be no local source for the replacement panel.

Anyone have any suggestions.

Thanks,

Dave

denonjapan
Veteran

Jan 27, 2006, 3:25 AM

Post #2 of 7 (4444 views)
Shortcut
Re: [dwsmith01] Source for Sharp LCD series TV's [In reply to] Can't Post

quote: "I tried Sharp US, but because the TV is built in Japan, there appears to be no local source for the replacement panel".

dave! don't tell me that sharp corporation in the U.S. quoted you that?....that's ridiculous!Sly call worldparts or Partstore.com

denonjapan

made in japan

Larry E
User

Aug 26, 2006, 7:36 PM

Post #3 of 7 (4337 views)
Shortcut

You can order that panel for just under $1000.00 plus S&H at any major parts distributor that sells Sharp parts, Larry E

dwsmith01
New User

Aug 27, 2006, 7:54 PM

Post #4 of 7 (4333 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Larry E] Source for Sharp LCD series TV's [In reply to] Can't Post

I'm sorry but that can't be right! There is no way a replacement LCD display is $1000.00 That's twice the price of the TV when new!

techchris
Veteran

Aug 27, 2006, 8:23 PM

Post #5 of 7 (4332 views)
Shortcut

In the UK these panels are not available in many cases because they cost more than the set cost to buy. Dump it and buy a new tv

Larry E
User

Aug 28, 2006, 2:56 PM

Post #6 of 7 (4331 views)
Shortcut