Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: LCD TV Forum:
Need help! (kinda long)

sloanwi
New User

Nov 10, 2008, 1:08 AM

Post #1 of 2 (1407 views)
Shortcut
Need help! (kinda long) Can't Post

Ok, so I have a multitude of questions about a potential HT setup I’m going to purchase in the upcoming weeks. I’m still new to this stuff (in spite of the fact that I work at Best Buy!), so I’m at your mercy. First things first, I have narrowed my TV choices down to a Sony 40XBR6, the KDLW4100, or the KDLV4100 of the same brand. Granted, this is for my bedroom, so I don’t want anything too large. The XBR6 has the 10-bit processor, x.v.Color technology, and Dynamic Video Noise Reduction, but I don’t know what any of this means. The KDLW4100 seems to be, by and large, the same TV outside of the aforementioned specs. The x.v. is appealing, but from what I’ve read, I can’t expect it to be of much consequence over the next few years, unless I’m watching a blu-ray movie. I don’t know what the other two are, or what they do, so any input about them would be greatly appreciated. The KDLV4100 has half the processor speed, and I’m relatively certain 120hz is something I’d like to have, so that one is all but out of the running in my mind. However, if anyone has any pros/cons as to why I would or wouldn’t want 120hz, I’m definitely listening.

My primary use for this TV will be casual viewing; mostly sports, action movies, and the occasional video game (I’m not much of a gamer). I’ll probably bite the bullet and use it as a CPU monitor as well. I also plan on getting a receiver, surround sound, all that jazz, at a later point.
Any input is appreciated. Sorry this was so long!

denonjapan
Veteran

Nov 10, 2008, 4:18 AM

Post #2 of 2 (1399 views)
Shortcut
Re: [sloanwi] Need help! (kinda long) [In reply to] Can't Post