Free Games TV Forums

Main Index FORUM
HOME
Search Posts SEARCH
IN
Rules & FAQ RULES
F.A.Q.

Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: LCD TV Forum:
PowerSpec 30" LCD TV developed problem after 16 months!

benben1999
New User

Oct 5, 2006, 5:23 PM

Post #1 of 24 (6409 views)
Shortcut
PowerSpec 30" LCD TV developed problem after 16 months! Can't Post

I bought a Winbook PowerSpec 30" Wide-Screen LCD-TV from MicroCenter in June 2005 and put it in the bedroom. I guess we used it less than 13 hours a week. Just a week ago, when I turned it on only to find out that the screen went black. I could still hear the sound and when I tried to change channel or source I could see the clear picture that stayed for only half a second. I didn't purchase the extended warranty from MicroCenter since I thought that LCD-TV would last longer than my conventional TV which I had been using extensively for 12 years before it broke. Beside, I have another 42" LCD-TV in my living room so I was not using the 30" that often. I did try to reset the TV to factory default settings yesterday after I unplugged the TV three days ago. It worked fine yesterday but this morning the same problem resurfaced again. I would appreciate if anyone could help me figure out what's wrong with my TV and what I should do. I couldn't believe such a high-tech LCD TV manufactured by PowerSpec and sold by MicroCenter could not last longer than a year and a half, just passed the one-year warranty period.

denonjapan
Veteran

Oct 6, 2006, 3:17 AM

Post #2 of 24 (6403 views)
Shortcut
Re: [benben1999] PowerSpec 30" LCD TV developed problem after 16 months! [In reply to] Can't Post

Call the manufacturer and only the manufacturer could fix this problem. Im pretty sure it's loose contact somewhere in the video cards such as COMPONENT INPUT, S-VIDEO, VGA or could be the TUNER section. Don't do LOCAL repair in this regard.... It passed the warranty period therefore it's a good condition unit still.

denonjp

gearguy
User