Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: Plasma TV Forum:
I'm a total novice...

sparky
New User

Jun 29, 2005, 1:58 AM

Post #1 of 5 (1815 views)
Shortcut
I'm a total novice... Can't Post

I have a 42" Samsung SPP4251 EDTV. I'm trying to get the best picture quality possible from the TV. Any recommendations? I purchased an RCA HDTV DirecTV receiver. I also have a Monster Clean Power surge protector, with all my connections running through that. Can I use the DVI-D connection? Would that help with the picture quality? When I hook up the TV with the DVI cable the picture doesn't really come in. The picture is all bright colors and the picture is unwatchable. Right now I am connecting the TV to the HDTV receiver with a Monster Cable S-Video cable. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Bursma
User

Jun 29, 2005, 1:36 PM

Post #2 of 5 (1807 views)
Shortcut
Re: [sparky] I'm a total novice... [In reply to] Can't Post

Your S video connection is actually an analog connection, not a digital connection. To get the best quallity, you would want to go all digital, which would mean using the DVI cord.

You say the color is really bright? Hmmm... I am not sure why that would be. Have you tried turning down the brightness once you have the cord pluged in? Try that. Hopefully it's not a problem with your digital input on your TV.

sparky
New User

Jun 30, 2005, 12:32 AM

Post #3 of 5 (1796 views)
Shortcut
Re: [Bursma] I'm a total novice... [In reply to] Can't Post

What I mean by the colors being screwed is that when I switch it to DVI the picture comes in like it's in tie-dye. The colors are real vivid and the picture is unwatchable. Any ideas? Do I need to subscribe to Directv HD service for the DVI to work?

Robroy
User

Jun 30, 2005, 3:14 AM

Post #4 of 5 (1793 views)
Shortcut