Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: Plasma TV Forum:
Post Goodmans Plasma

andymac
New User

Feb 15, 2005, 9:24 AM

Post #1 of 5 (2636 views)
Shortcut
Post Goodmans Plasma Can't Post

Well I've booked Argos to come and take back the Goodmans so started this thread for thoughts on what next. I've mailed AV-Sales wrt the Panasonic offers they have - will post back any reply I get

System:-
Tivo, Marantz AV Amp, Windows MCE, Pioneer DVD, SKY, Neuston MC500, XBox

johngla
New User

Mar 27, 2005, 2:59 PM

Post #2 of 5 (2562 views)
Shortcut
Re: [andymac] Post Goodmans Plasma [In reply to] Can't Post

After having an engineer out to replace a faulty video board on my GTV42P4 I got curious.

I'm a qualified electrical engineer so I had a look inside, I don't recommend anyone else doing this, for a start it'll probably void your warranty if you're not qualified to maintain and it might just anyway.

The ariel internal wiring passed right over the scart connector wiring internally. It's a right angle connector, adjusting this cable so it goes no where near the scart connections causes a vast improvement in the picture quality on scart.

Many of the power connections were passing over sensitive analogue video components. After moving the internal cabling around to avoid internal noise another picture quality improvement was seen.

On my particular set and colour purity test revealed that the green channel was about 20% weaker than red and blue which were fairly well matched. This causes banding in static images in particular a dirty green looking grey scale. There are individual channel adjustments in the factory mode menu but they don't work correctly (yes, GTV42P4 has a factory mode menu). Fixing this would result in an awesome picture quality.

Basically, this is similar to any other plasma screen. A bit of calibration makes a world of difference. It can be achieved with the P4.