Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: Plasma TV Forum:
Samsung 51 inch works intermittently

Titan4
New User

Jan 14, 2017, 6:01 PM

Post #1 of 3 (7176 views)
Shortcut
Samsung 51 inch works intermittently Can't Post

Newbie here. First post. I searched first, but may have missed existing posts on my issue.

I have a Samsung PN51F4500AF TV that was installed outside in a screened-in lanai in Central Florida. It is mounted such that it will never get rained on or be in sunlight. Of course it is exposed to heat, humidity, etc. It was mounted in mid-2013 and we rarely use it. A month or so ago I turned it on and it worked intermittently in that the picture would come and go. This was not abnormal as it is connected to my receiver in the house which also feeds our main indoor Sharp TV. My receiver has a HDMI jack to allow shadowing of the main Sharp TV onto the outside Samsung TV. Anytime the outside Samsung TV is turned on it always causes the main Sharp TV in the house to lose video for a few seconds before recovering. I have always attributed that to HDMI syncing, but could be wrong. This time it did all of that, but after a few minutes everything settled out the outdoor Samsung TV picture went away. I tried turning it off and on a few times, but it was unresponsive. The red standby light was not on. The only way I could get the standby light to come on was to unplug the TV and plug it back in. I would then turn the TV on and the standby light would go out (as it should), but still no picture. I repeated this process numerous times with the same result. No picture or audio.
I took the TV down and brought it into the house and the next day decided to check for bulging capacitors. Everything appeared to be normal except for some minor corrosion on some of the component leads (as expected). I decided to check the voltages. They are as follows:

Vs: 185.3 V DC (should be 205 V DC)
Va: 53 V DC (should be 58 V DC)
Vsc: -172.9 V DC (should be -175 V DC)