Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: Projection TV Forum:
Cant locate problem

InuGoku
New User

Dec 29, 2010, 4:55 AM

Post #1 of 4 (1653 views)
Shortcut
Cant locate problem Can't Post

Hello, Im a novice tech trying to learn more about electronics in general. Please bear with me.

I have a Magnavox 51mp392h that had a convergence problem. I ordered STK392-120 chips from MCM. When i got them i swapped them out and turned the set on to find that the same problem was still present.

When i went to check the board i saw (2) 6.8 ohm 1w resistors that were burnt out.

I went to my local radio shack to get the resistors and the closest they had was a 10ohm 1w. So me being inexperienced i thought it was good enough. With some more research online i found out that It was a big mistake to put in those 10 ohm resistors and that they made my STK's go bad.Unsure

I ordered 2 new STK's and a pack of 6.8 ohm 1w resistors. So swapped everything out and the set worked for about 10 sec. When i went to check it out the same 2 resistors were burnt. I swapped them again and they burned again.

I unplugged the power to the Red and Blue bulbs and to my surprise they did not burn out this time. If i left one connected then 1 resistor would burn out. So I traced the cables back to a board that has Red, Green, and Blue A/V inputs at the back of the TV. I took off the board but the Red, Green, and Blue bulbs wont turn on.

At this points im guessing something that is connected to the Red and Blue bulbs is what is causing the resistors to short.

More experienced techs might read this and laugh or get angry, but the only way to learn is by making mistakes and to keep trying.

Does anyone have any ideas or pointers that can guide me in the right direction? Any help is greatly appreciated.Smile

darstr
User

Dec 29, 2010, 11:18 PM

Post #2 of 4 (1646 views)
Shortcut
Re: [InuGoku] Cant locate problem [In reply to] Can't Post