erickeri
New User

Apr 25, 2008, 8:22 AM

Post #1 of 14 (12309 views)
Shortcut
JVC AV-48WP74 convergence problem! Can't Post

Hello everyone.
JVC AV-48WP74
My uncle called me the other day. telling me something happened to his 4 year old TV. (HE LOVES THE DAMN THING).Anyways he said he turned it off went out came back home tried to turn it on and seen the picture was all messed up.
The top of the screen is bowwing in and the bottom of the screen is bowwing in, and that the red is really out.
I haven't been over there yet to see it personally but before I go there what should I look for and test. I'm not a pro at this stuff but can manage a little bit.
Thanks Eric

zip
User

Apr 27, 2008, 2:38 AM

Post #2 of 14 (12295 views)
Shortcut
Re: [erickeri] JVC AV-48WP74 convergence problem! [In reply to] Can't Post

Hi: It sounds like an convergence problem, this tv should have two large ic's on a large heat sink, these are the convergence ic's, their bad, change both. JVC has a rebuild kit to repair this circuit (Ic's and resistors). P.S. If this is an HD tv model, don't run this tv with the back removed! See service manual for info to defeat the saftey divice, you will blow out your hd circuits if you operate the set with the back cover removed!

erickeri
New User

Apr 27, 2008, 6:53 AM

Post #3 of 14 (12294 views)
Shortcut
Re: [zip] JVC AV-48WP74 convergence problem! [In reply to] Can't Post

Where can I get the rebuild kit for the tv? Thank you for telling me about the having the back removed, I didn't know that. It is a HD model

In Reply To