Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Help with Panasonic TC-P42ST30 After Power Surge

milkrocks
New User

Sep 24, 2012, 12:11 PM

Post #1 of 8 (2412 views)
Shortcut
Help with Panasonic TC-P42ST30 After Power Surge Can't Post

First off, thanks for your help! I've been working with electronics for many years now but have limited tv repair experience. I was given a TC-P42ST30 that wouldn't turn on after a power surge. I've replace the main board and the power supply. The TV will now power on with either the new PS or the one that came with the TV. All functions of the TV work properly including menus and inputs. The sound work perfectly.

The problem is in the image. The image shown is consistent with the program but the picture quality is terrible. Dark portions are black, light portions are completely blown out. The power supply is putting out 214.9V. This is true for both of the power supplies i have on hand. Adjusting the voltage up or down a bit has no impact on the picture (or at least it remains as terrible).

I'm thinking of buying one or both sustain boards but am not sure if this would correct my problem.

N9ZN
New User

Apr 18, 2014, 11:21 PM

Post #2 of 8 (2130 views)
Shortcut
Re: [milkrocks] Help with Panasonic TC-P42ST30 After Power Surge [In reply to] Can't Post

I am having the exact same problems with my TV. It is the same model, replaced the A (main) board to get it to power up and function again but my image is exactly like yours. I did not replace the power board or any sustain boards. I may be headed in that direction soon if I can not get this set working right as is.

Please give this old US Marine a little help here, I need my TV. It is in fact my best friend since I can no longer work and am pretty much home bound most of the time.

flyatyou66
User

Apr 19, 2014, 1:33 AM

Post #3 of 8 (2126 views)
Shortcut
Re: [milkrocks] Help with Panasonic TC-P42ST30 After Power Surge [In reply to] Can't Post