Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Magnavox has power, doesnt turn on

zachtheterrible
New User

Feb 16, 2005, 11:22 PM

Post #1 of 3 (1208 views)
Shortcut
Magnavox has power, doesnt turn on Can't Post

Hi there. I just recently inherited a Magnavox TV from a friend that does not work. I am an electronics hobbyist, so I've got a very good understanding of electronics and know how to solder.

My purpose for this TV is not to watch TV, but to make a jacob's ladder with the flyback transformer. A jacob's ladder is one of those things that you see a lot of times in old black n white frankenstein movies in the lab. It is two V shaped poles with a spark that rises up in between them. Of course mine will be a miniature version. I do not plan on removing the transformer from the board, since there are many operations that happen on the board to keep the transformer running, if I took it off the board, I would have to duplicate those.

QUESTION:
The TV is getting power, I know that the fuse is not blown. The reason is because I plugged it in to see if it would work, of course it didn't, so when I unplugged it I put a screwdriver across the leads of a rather large capacitor and got a healthy pop.

Also, the speakers do not work. I tried hitting the power button and then turning up the volume, but there was no static sound. I also tried turning it off and on a couple of times to see if I heard anything, just in case there is an automute.

Any suggestions? Thank youSmile

shadetree
Veteran

Feb 17, 2005, 5:36 PM

Post #2 of 3 (1199 views)
Shortcut
Re: [zachtheterrible] Magnavox has power, doesnt turn on [In reply to] Can't Post

replace voltage regulator ic usually str30130

zachtheterrible
New User

Feb 18, 2005, 3:08 AM

Post #3 of 3 (1188 views)
Shortcut
Re: [zachtheterrible] Magnavox has power, doesnt turn on [In reply to] Can't Post

wow shadetree, right on the buttonWink. That is the exact voltage regulator that is in there.