Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
My Panasonic TV isn't well!

ArthurLee
New User

Sep 8, 2004, 9:49 AM

Post #1 of 2 (1463 views)
Shortcut
My Panasonic TV isn't well! Can't Post

Here’s the thing. About 3 weeks ago, my Panasonic TV started to switch to standby mode quite regularly and, during the times it was viewable, the picture was ‘squashed and grainy’. I got a bit sick of this so I took the back off the TV. At this point, I should explain that I am not a TV engineer! The inside was very, very dusty so I used a soft brush attachment from my vacuum cleaner and gave it a good clean. I looked to see if there were any obvious breaks in the circuit boards but couldn’t find anything.

Anyway, when I re-assembled the TV, by some strange fluke, it worked perfectly! Until a few days ago that is. The same problems started to manifest themselves. By chance, I happened to be socializing and got talking to a TV engineer who was ‘absolutely certain’ that my TV had ‘dry joints’ and that it would need a little soldering work. He said he would do the work for me but, after calling him a couple of times, he’s either too busy or he’s not at work. I get the distinct feeling he really doesn’t want to do it and I don’t want to push him any further.

My questions are

Does this sound feasible (ie dry joints)?

Is it a big job to fix (I don’t know how to solder)?

How much, on average, would it cost to have the remedial work done by a professional?

Thank you for your help.

mel
Veteran

Sep 8, 2004, 11:40 PM

Post #2 of 2 (1451 views)
Shortcut
Re: [ArthurLee] My Panasonic TV isn't well! [In reply to] Can't Post