Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Need advice: High voltage splitter replacement

DaRedFox
New User

Feb 1, 2005, 3:42 AM

Post #1 of 11 (2069 views)
Shortcut
Need advice: High voltage splitter replacement Can't Post

Just bought an RCA P46732BA rear projection from a tv repair guy, worked fine when I checked it out at his shop. Brought it home, was able to watch a full length movie and then a couple of hours later while watching heard a high pitched noise, the picture flickered and poof out she went. #$%^&* thought I'd been had, thankfully he gave me a 30-day parts warranty. He came over to the house did some diagnostics and came to the conclussion that it was the High Voltage Splitter. He's ordering me a brand new one (I heard it's a good idea to buy OEM instead of generic parts), he gave me the choice of either installing it myself or have him do it for $50.

I'm a computer technician so I've worked with electronics before, he walked me through on how to install the new splitter. From how he explained it to me it seems quite easy enough however he did say that if I start it I'm on my own.

Here' my question, is there anything that I need to know or keep in mind if I replace the splitter myself or should I spend the $50. and have him do it himself. Not sure if he's just trying to recoup some of the money he spent on the new splitter.

Thanx in advance.

StarBaseONE2
New User

Feb 1, 2005, 11:24 AM

Post #2 of 11 (2063 views)
Shortcut
Re: [DaRedFox] Need advice: High voltage splitter replacement [In reply to] Can't Post