Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
No Picture on Sony Trinitron KV-32TW75

SuperB
New User

Apr 15, 2005, 3:47 PM

Post #1 of 7 (15773 views)
Shortcut
No Picture on Sony Trinitron KV-32TW75 Can't Post

First off, thank you to everyone for contributing to this forum. It gives me a glimmer of hope. Cool

My 1991 Sony Trinitron KV-32TW75 has no picture. The sound and tuner are still fine (at least I can still listen to TV). The picture is completely blank. When I power it on, it still makes the same buzz that it has always made on startup.

I have no experience in servicing or reparing TVs, but it would sure be nice to take a stab at it. This TV is massive but my friends and I managed to move it up to my 3rd floor apartment. Maybe its time to let it go, but I'm not ready to invest in a new nice one and even if I had another large TV, those 32 stairs pose a major roadblock for me. I'll probably be using a ~20 year old 19" TV set on top of the Trinitron until I move out or fix it. Frown

Thanks for any help you can provide. Smile

-Brendan

mel
Veteran

Apr 15, 2005, 10:38 PM

Post #2 of 7 (15754 views)
Shortcut
Re: [SuperB] No Picture on Sony Trinitron KV-32TW75 [In reply to] Can't Post

First, check to see if the filaments are lit in the picture tube. If not, the filaments are open or you have lost filament voltage. More than likely, the set is in IK shutdown due to an aging picture tube. Try turning up the screen voltage. If not, post back with your findings and we can go from there. You might also want to check out www.FreeFlatScreens.com/?r=10948674 for an opportunity to earn a free replacement for this set with a little effort on your part. A 27" set may not be as big as your current set but it will be a heck of a lot easier getting up the stairs.

SuperB
New User

Apr 16, 2005, 1:14 AM

Post #3 of 7 (15752 views)
Shortcut
Re: [mel] No Picture on Sony Trinitron KV-32TW75 [In reply to] Can't Post

Hi Mel,