Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: TV Repair Forum:
Sharp LC70LE640U power issue...

winfab
New User

Apr 6, 2017, 11:20 PM

Post #1 of 4 (978 views)
Shortcut
Sharp LC70LE640U power issue... Can't Post

First of all, I am new to the site. My name is Jay, and I'm in Southwest Ontario, Canada. I have been an automotive electrical technician for 20+ years, and have recently made the switch to electrician.

I own a Sharp LC70LE640U which was purchased brand new I believe back in end of 2012-ish. It has worked great all these years, except for the last week. I had an issue where the TV would not shut off. My Harmony remote or the original Sharp remote. Walked up and pressed the PWR button on the side, nothing. Pressed the PWR button once more, and the set finally powered down.

Well, the next day after work, went to turn the set on, and nothing. No flashing logo LED telling me the Sharp error codes, nothing. Was like the set was unplugged from AC power.

After work the next day, I called a friend over to help me get it down from the wall. Opened it up, expecting to see bulging caps or something. Everything looked perfect! So, I plugged it back in, and it fired up! Still no response from the remote, buttons on the side, etc. The panel works fine, HDMI input still works, etc.

I haven't disassembled the television a second time to actually test the secondary DC voltages from the power supply, thought I would post this issue on here to see if anyone has seen it, or has any advice.

Thanks!

Jay

(This post was edited by winfab on Apr 7, 2017, 12:36 AM)

winfab
New User

Apr 7, 2017, 12:52 AM

Post #2 of 4 (962 views)
Shortcut
Re: [winfab] Sharp LC70LE640U power issue... [In reply to] Can't Post