Total noob here - No backlight for Samsung LED TV; help please

leatherlunch
New User

Sep 13, 2016, 5:37 PM

Post #1 of 10 (3575 views)
Shortcut
Total noob here - No backlight for Samsung LED TV; help please Can't Post

Hey everybody,

Bear with me. I'm a complete neophyte at this stuff but I'm game to learn.

I recently inherited a Samsung UN32F5500AF unit from someone. They said the picture was dead but they could still hear the sound, but had no idea what to do with it. I said I'd take a crack at fixing it. In the past, I've opened up my computer monitor when it seemed dead and changed up the capacitors, so I had hoped this would be the same relatively easy fix. It doesn't look to the be the same issue here.

There is indeed sound coming through the speakers, and I can see little blue LED lights behind the ventilation grate in the back, as well as a red light on one of the sound plugs. Also, I noticed that the screen does display, although without lighting up. I happened to see "HDMI 1" very faintly when it was angled to the window and then performed what I believe you guys call "the flashlight test" and indeed the pixels seems to fire but no light comes through.

So, when I opened it up and looked around a bit I didn't see anything that stood out. No evidence of arcing, no bulging capacitors, nothing out of the ordinary to my noob eyes. This isn't a great picture, but at least it can be used for directions. I'll take a close up of anything anyone recommends for clarity.

I'm assuming the motherboard on the left is the "thinker", the electrical board on the right is the "doer", and the small board on the bottom is the sound card.

Can someone please help guide me a little bit on what things to test first. Bear in mind, I don't have any equipment to test things like electrical signals, but maybe I can borrow one somehow if it's completely necessary.

What's the first thing I should do?

Thanks in advance!

jts1957
Veteran

Sep 13, 2016, 6:54 PM