TV Forums

Free Games Games Forums Music Forums TV Forums

  Main Index FORUM
HOME
Search Posts SEARCH
POSTS
Who's Online WHO'S
ONLINE
Log in LOG
IN
Rules & FAQ RULES
F.A.Q.

Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: VCR Repair Forum:
JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape

 

First page Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next page Last page  View All


the98
User

Oct 14, 2017, 1:55 AM

Post #1 of 127 (1288 views)
Shortcut
JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape Can't Post

Hi,

I need some help fixing a JVC VCR, model HR-D190EN. I think this model might have been only available in south America, but maybe there was some equivalent in the US, or Europe.

Here is a pic of the model:



The VCR turns on for a few seconds, then it goes off. That clock is still on, but the power LED goes off after some seconds.

If you try to insert a tape while the VCR is on, nothing happens, it won't go in. Belt seems to be ok.

What you should I check first?

Thank you.



jts1957
Veteran


Oct 14, 2017, 4:13 AM

Post #2 of 127 (1284 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Would need good close-up pictures of Top, Bottom and basket mechanisms to even give it a try.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away


the98
User

Oct 15, 2017, 6:34 PM

Post #3 of 127 (1269 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Here are some pics:

https://i.imgur.com/vwkADkV.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/nkIfArf.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/Ke2cATw.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/5W75kNA.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/YScEcOM.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/fLixCsD.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/OHjGFhh.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/uTM0q3v.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/p4nxh5o.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/NWU2owx.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/f33LvCY.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/HBCYQw7.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/YScEcOM.jpg

Video showing the functionality:

http://youtu.be/ZIAp2AdEQb0


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 15, 2017, 7:23 PM

Post #4 of 127 (1267 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

See if the power supply has both SW5 and SW12 VDC while power LED is lit.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 15, 2017, 7:29 PM)


the98
User

Oct 15, 2017, 8:13 PM

Post #5 of 127 (1261 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

The thing is, the boards are not marked, so I don't know where to expect those voltages. I don't seem to find any service manual, or schematics, because the VCR is from South America, and there is no information online. That's why I was asking if there was any equivalent VCR that might be useful to get an idea of the board configuration, maybe find a service manual of that equivalent model.

Any way, is there any specific place to look for those voltages? Like, the motor, for example, or something that is generic to JVC VCRs.


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 15, 2017, 9:49 PM

Post #6 of 127 (1260 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

ZENITH VR1820 should be similar if not same.



The power supply consists of two boards - The power transformer is the largest component on one and the STK5481 on the other. I can see two metal test stakes in your photo (I believe there should be a third). The one closest to upper edge is marked GND, the others TP1 & TP2?. One should be SW5V, The other SW12V. You could measure SW5V at ANY convenient point on the printed circuit foil that connects to Pin #3 of the IC; SW12V at ANY convenient point on the printed circuit foil that connects to Pin #4 of the IC. You'll also need to check for 12 volts at ANY convenient point on the printed circuit foil that connects to Pin #9 of the IC.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away


the98
User

Oct 16, 2017, 1:50 AM

Post #7 of 127 (1255 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Yes, there is a TP1 and TP2. One reads 12.04 V, and the other is 5.27 V. Could it be that's too low, and that's why it isn't working?


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 16, 2017, 2:29 AM

Post #8 of 127 (1254 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

And BOTH presumably go back to zero when the power LED is off. This is normal.

Since you did NOT report whether or not you have a second 12V at pin #9 of the IC (or ANY convenient point along the foil trace that connects to pin #9), Can one assume you have NOT pulled the (if memory serves) two-board power supply out of the VCR?


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 16, 2017, 2:34 AM)


the98
User

Oct 16, 2017, 4:42 AM

Post #9 of 127 (1245 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

When Power On:

Pin 3 = 5.27
Pin 4 = 12.05
Pin 9 = 11.98

When Power off:

Pin 3 = 0.14
Pin 4 = 0.91
Pin 9 = 11.98


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 16, 2017, 5:41 AM

Post #10 of 127 (1243 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

That eliminates the first possibility. Each of these possibilities I've encountered more than once, and each are a low or no-cost possible fix.

Next, in picture #6 (in your post #3), where the large PC board 'hinges' to a smaller PC board, there are three ribbon cable 'jumpers' (one 10 conductors & two 14 conductors). With a magnifier carefully inspect the solder connections (on both ends of each jumper) for any defects. Heat and add solder to any questionable joints.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 16, 2017, 5:47 AM)


the98
User

Oct 16, 2017, 9:30 PM

Post #11 of 127 (1230 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

I resoldered every connection of the ribbons on both sides, and is doing the same.


(This post was edited by the98 on Oct 17, 2017, 2:05 AM)


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 16, 2017, 11:47 PM

Post #12 of 127 (1228 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

https://imgur.com/a/DntGw

The last checks involve the Loading Motor & the Mode Switch. Read the below FIRST. Don't disassemble anything yet.

The Mode switch (circled in red) can become gunked up and fail to inform the electronics of the position of the mechanism. Also the mounting screws may have loosened, which can affect its grounding, and if both loosen simultaneously, its physical position.
The Loading Motor (circled in yellow) drives the VCR deck mechanism (there is a separate motor on the basket that drives just that). The belt can break or stretch and the plastic pulleys can crack or break.

In this case, it appears that the Mode switch is slightly to the right of its home position. There is a 'v' molded into the Mode switches' black plastic frame. There is also a 'v' molded into the gray jaws (the slide of the switch) that has a metal pin between them.
I didn't hear any motor turning sounds in your video. With unit unplugged, using a finger, rotate the Loading/mechanism's larger pulley repeatedly in the direction that causes the metal pin to push the slider to its left, lining up the 'v's. Turn VCR onto left or right side (so you can observe loading motor belt/pulleys). I usually take a marker and put a stripe across the pulleys to see easier. Plug it in and try to gently insert a tape.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 16, 2017, 11:54 PM)


the98
User

Oct 17, 2017, 1:15 AM

Post #13 of 127 (1219 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Dude, first of all I want to thank for all the detailed information that you're posting. You're awesome, thank you!

I'll check the mode switch and report back, but in the mean time, I have a few questions:

- Is it not important that the 6 V line is getting less than 6 V?

- What can make the VCR power on for a few seconds, and then go back to standby mode?

- Shouldn't I check that JVC VC2020 chip? Maybe there is some data-sheet that tells me which pin is supposed to get some voltages that I can check.


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 17, 2017, 8:00 AM

Post #14 of 127 (1218 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

http://www.ges.cz/sheets/s/stk5481.pdf As source does not identify specific model(s), this information is to be used as a guide (unless or until it is proved to be a Bible. There is also the image I posted earlier in thread.
I know my eyes are not as good as they once were but I see four blocks in that IC: SW5V / SW12V / Unswitched 12V / Motor 12V


Quote
Is it not important that the 6 V line is getting less than 6 V?


Quote
The thing is, the boards are not marked, so I don't know where to expect those voltages.

WHAT 6V line?

As regards Mode switch:
https://imgur.com/IiY21l7

Why worry about the SERVO (Capstan & Video cylinder) I.C.? I'll (after having you check some routine possibilities) start with finding out why the basket and loading motors aren't trying to turn.

Do you have a DVM? Solder Iron? External power supply (even batteries)?


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 17, 2017, 9:16 AM)


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 17, 2017, 9:20 AM

Post #15 of 127 (1208 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post


Quote
Shouldn't I check that JVC VC2020 chip?

I think you mean VC2022.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away


the98
User

Oct 20, 2017, 12:57 AM

Post #16 of 127 (1166 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

I went ahead and cleaned the mode switch, align it as it should, but nothing happened. Unsure


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 20, 2017, 4:19 AM

Post #17 of 127 (1159 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Remember reading THIS> The last checks involve the Loading Motor & the Mode Switch. Read the below FIRST. Don't disassemble anything yet.

Well make sure the rest of section 1.3 is correct (EDIT):
https://imgur.com/U4RwHqk
https://imgur.com/LplNZcZ


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 21, 2017, 8:19 PM)


the98
User

Oct 21, 2017, 1:52 AM

Post #18 of 127 (1147 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

I honestly thought this was going to be easier, as if there was something jammed or out of place. If you are patient with me, and you're wiling to help (as you've been doing so far) I'll keep trying.

I'm having a bit of trouble following the instructions that you posted. I'm adding some pics, so maybe you can check and guide me on where to look next:

https://i.imgur.com/JhTfi5d.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/lYX9qXo.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/8rld2xS.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/62TFhP0.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/tpkqP0c.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/fSHstlR.jpg

The is also this piece that caught my attention. The are 3 connectors available, but there is only one connected. I don't see any other connections. I think they are ground connections.

https://i.imgur.com/rAPvZUh.jpg

I may add that, now, the VCR turns on and off. I think it wasn't doing that before. Maybe the mode switch cleaning had something to do with it. I've also noticed that the cassette LED goes on when manually inserting a tape. I'm adding a video to show this behavior:

https://youtu.be/KoLqkPROzJs

Thank you!


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 21, 2017, 11:20 AM

Post #19 of 127 (1144 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

The first 12 posts were to eliminate commonly occurring conditions.
Then came a couple posts (13/14/15) attempting to address a list of questions from you, which resulted in a few from me, which were never responded to by you.
At around that point I went out looking for service manuals that seem to match (the VCR Deck, at least) in regards to the vintage of your unit and the photos you posted.
I'm sort of scared to ask HOW you cleaned the Mode switch. (Do I know that you know what you're doing? NO! It would be better to ask / discuss BEFORE action is taken.)

Regarding Section 1.3
I'm mostly concerned that the 'timing marks' and the 'through holes' ARE aligned correctly. Your pictures/videos don't show enough detail to confirm. With the exception of the Mode switch picture everything else 'appears' to be in alignment.
To recap: In STOP, with basket Ejected, ALL should be as shown in Section 1.3 drawings.
Under those conditions, the VCR should be capable of being turned On by YOU, it will then STAY turned On until either YOU turn it Off or YOU try to insert a tape or 'Dummy' tape.

The 3 pins ARE Grounds. They put in enough so ALL Models/builds are accommodated. Pictures/Videos are good documentation of pre-disassembly conditions so as to allow you to restore to starting point.

As far as it being easy, the jammed and out of place we've already covered. Next would be electronic troubleshooting, hence my earlier unanswered questions about meter/iron/PS.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away


the98
User

Oct 21, 2017, 2:09 PM

Post #20 of 127 (1140 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

I'm sorry I didn't answer the questions, but since you had me testing some voltages earlier, and I commented that I had resolder some connections, I thought there was no need.

So yes, I have an iron, multimeter, and I can get and external power supply from an old PC to get the voltages.

The thing about the section 1.3 is that I'm not sure where to locate the control cam, cam bracket. Maybe you circle them for me, like you did before.

To clean the mode switch, I followed the instructions from a YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xul_LFZ0kes

Desoldered the pins of the MS, unscrew some screws, and release without a complete disassembly. Opened it up, cleaned with some q-tips and alcohol, and then gently scraped the metal connections with a screwdriver.

UPDATE:

Checked some alignments. I don't know if I'm doing it right, but there are two of them that don't align. I'm not sure, so I've uploaded a video:

https://youtu.be/1iwDkDOKpGQ


(This post was edited by the98 on Oct 21, 2017, 7:29 PM)


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 21, 2017, 8:23 PM

Post #21 of 127 (1118 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

I knew that having two pdfs open at the same time was a bad idea.
Go re-examine post 17.

See if that looks more like what you have. DO NOT DISASSEMBLE! Just see if it aligns as shown.

TOP seems to be aligned correctly.


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 21, 2017, 8:28 PM)


the98
User

Oct 21, 2017, 10:45 PM

Post #22 of 127 (1113 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Checked the bottom. Had to disassembly some parts to see if it was aligned.

Here there are some pics:

https://i.imgur.com/yFg9j2a.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/ngr502A.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/G4aiMek.jpg

I see this may not be aligned. I don't know, but I marked them with green

https://i.imgur.com/OVqqsKT.jpg

I noticed that moving the puley with my finger (the you told me before to align the mode switch), the loading arms (I think that's what they are) are not moving.

I mean, these two:

https://i.imgur.com/G4aiMek.jpg

Is that normal?


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 22, 2017, 12:10 AM

Post #23 of 127 (1107 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

You don't seem to want to follow MY or THEIR written instructions well (or at all). Your machine was probably in alignment at the beginning of all this. All I asked then was you to turn the loading motor pulley until the Mode switch would be in alignment as they showed. Then All I wanted was for you to OBSERVE whether or not the rest of the timing marks & through holes were aligned. Granted, my having posted the wrong drawings at first probable didn't help...

All alignments go in a 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 order. The next step depends on the prior step(s) remaining aligned. Etc.
1) https://imgur.com/a/jfXBO
2) https://imgur.com/a/crftc
3) https://imgur.com/5Ro4WUI
4) Mode switch - previously posted


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away


the98
User

Oct 22, 2017, 1:09 AM

Post #24 of 127 (1101 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

Step 1: Aligned
Step 2: Aligned
Step 3: I think not: https://i.imgur.com/OVqqsKT.jpg

But, to take that picture you see in step 3, I had to disassembly this: https://i.imgur.com/0bE1WJ0.jpg

I don't think I can align those more than what they are. I'll post a video tomorrow if you think it can help, but I have to disassembly that piece, and in order to do that, desolder the motor. I prefer not to, but I've already did today to see the alignment. Whatever you tell to proceed I'll do.

Thanks!


jts1957
Veteran


Oct 22, 2017, 2:12 AM

Post #25 of 127 (1099 views)
Shortcut
Re: [the98] JVC HR-D190EN doens't take tape [In reply to] Can't Post

There is a upper and lower component to that plate, if I remember correctly the protrusion with the heavier spring must be pushed to get the metal post into the groove in the cam and align holes.
https://imgur.com/SRxdjKb


-------------------------
Location: Far, Far Away

(This post was edited by jts1957 on Oct 22, 2017, 2:42 AM)

First page Previous page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next page Last page  View All
 
 


Search for (options) - Page loaded in: 0.22 s on (CGI/1.1)