Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: VCR Repair Forum:
JVC VIDEO/DVD HD PLAYER

simplejohnny
New User

May 11, 2010, 5:49 PM

Post #1 of 2 (1507 views)
Shortcut
JVC VIDEO/DVD HD PLAYER Can't Post

Hi, I am a newb on tv matters so please be patient with me.
I have a JVC DVD/VIDEO HD player in which the HD has never been used & the video once. The DVD player a few times. It is 3 years old & out of warranty.
One day my TV network provider Virgin, was updating their box which is connected to the JVC player & then I heard a number of crackling noises.
Since then the DVD player keep saying it is "loading" when you plug in & you can do nothing else with it. You cannot open the video or DVD parts.

I have contacted JVC who say there are no spare parts/software for this player & there is "nothing they can do". Virgin deny responsibility.
I got the player from a catalogue & paid nearly £500 for it & I cannot believe they just ignore something that costs so much.

Has anyone else had a similar problem? Did you get it fixed? How & who by? I would love to know if anyone had a better lucj than me.

Barry777
User

May 29, 2010, 4:21 PM

Post #2 of 2 (1490 views)
Shortcut
Re: [simplejohnny] JVC VIDEO/DVD HD PLAYER [In reply to] Can't Post

Hi Johnny,

You might get better advice from another tech on here, but my experience shows that 3 years is about the average lifespan for any DVD player, no matter how much or how little it's used. Like most new technologies, they keep trying to cram more peformance into smaller and cheaper packages. To make matters even worse, they've eliminated almost all internal adjustments and depend on the software to keep things in check.