Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: Big Screen TV:
Newbie here need help on Panasonic big screen

mollydodger
New User

Nov 11, 2006, 8:15 PM

Post #1 of 7 (2897 views)
Shortcut
Newbie here need help on Panasonic big screen Can't Post

Hello! I have a Panasonic big screen model PT51SF30R, chasis #AEDP808. It is around 15 years old but has very few hours on it. I would estimate less than 500 hours. I turned it on today and it has some sort of distortion on the screen. The best way I can describe it is it looks like the waves you see when a computer is shown on a TV program or when you place an electric motor near a PC screen. The waves are in a definite rythum. I have turned of every light, appliance and other electrical device in my home to see if any particular one makes a difference. Nothing changes the distortion. Can anyone here offer any advice?? Many thanks!!!

(This post was edited by mollydodger on Nov 11, 2006, 11:05 PM)

maizenbluedoc
New User

Nov 12, 2006, 10:55 PM

Post #2 of 7 (2881 views)
Shortcut
Re: [mollydodger] Newbie here need help on Panasonic big screen [In reply to] Can't Post

The first thing I would do is to check all connections. After that, I don't have any pertinent technical advice.

mollydodger
New User

Nov 13, 2006, 2:08 AM

Post #3 of 7 (2876 views)
Shortcut
Re: [maizenbluedoc] Newbie here need help on Panasonic big screen [In reply to] Can't Post

Thanks but I've already done that. A tech from another board suggested that it may be a capacitor problem. Anyone here think that may be it? If it is, what do the capacitors look like and can they be easily replaced? Thanks!!!

MOtvGuy
User

Nov 13, 2006, 4:01 AM

Post #4 of 7 (2875 views)
Shortcut
Re: [mollydodger] Newbie here need help on Panasonic big screen [In reply to] Can't Post

15 year old set? Take it to the nearest dumpster.