Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: LCD TV Forum:
HDMI Ports gone bad?

sharp52
New User

May 29, 2009, 11:07 AM

Post #1 of 2 (3087 views)
Shortcut
HDMI Ports gone bad? Can't Post

I Have a Sharp Aquos LC-60C52U that is approximately 2 years old. I have two (of 2) HDMI ports that appear to be useless after working for about a year and a half. The ports do not seat the cable securely and I am convinced I am not getting an image due to the poor connection. It's out of warranty and I recieved a guesstimate of $600 to repair. Being a former PC tech, I feel like I would be competent to swap out parts provided I know which parts to swap out?
Does anyone have an idea on which part (s) I should replace to include new HDMI ports? Or, is there a way to shore up the existing HDMI ports so they are snug again?
Thanks for your responses in advance.
Rick

jts1957
Veteran

May 29, 2009, 5:59 PM

Post #2 of 2 (3086 views)
Shortcut
Re: [sharp52] HDMI Ports gone bad? [In reply to] Can't Post

In Reply To
I Have a Sharp Aquos LC-60C52U that is approximately 2 years old. I have two (of 2) HDMI ports that appear to be useless after working for about a year and a half. The ports do not seat the cable securely and I am convinced I am not getting an image due to the poor connection. It's out of warranty and I recieved a guesstimate of $600 to repair. Being a former PC tech, I feel like I would be competent to swap out parts provided I know which parts to swap out?
Does anyone have an idea on which part (s) I should replace to include new HDMI ports? Or, is there a way to shore up the existing HDMI ports so they are snug again?
Thanks for your responses in advance.
Rick

If it's just a matter of a bad/loose connection, then jacks should work if held/pushed (left/right/up/down).