RCA 52" Convergence Issue - Need help!

Searchlight
New User

Apr 20, 2005, 11:20 PM

Post #1 of 4 (2747 views)
Shortcut
RCA 52" Convergence Issue - Need help! Can't Post

Hello,

I have a 52" RCA Model p52921, Chassis ptk195mb.

The problem is that the convergence goes out once the TV is on for a few minutes. Sometimes it can take days, sometimes hours, sometimes just seconds. Turning the TV off, then back on will clear the problem for a few minutes, then in just does it again. Sometimes turning it off then back on repeatedly will fix the problem for a few days and as long as you don't turn it off, the problem doesn't come back.

When this issue occurs, the convergence, especially on the side gets way off and the screen kinda looks like a hour-glass on it's side. Since I am not good at describing it, I have an image. See the following:

http://www.reconstituted.com/1.jpg

I even have video of it doing it. The video shows it going good, then going out. In the video, I shut the TV off and turn it on and you can see that it temporarily solves the issue. Here is a link to the video. If you have broadband, please view it (9MB) since it CLEARLY shows the problem:

http://www.reconstituted.com/TelevisionProblem.avi

Now, some more info in case it matters. When the problem happens, the adjust projection screen menu item disappears, only sometimes. Sometimes it is there, sometimes it is not. If it is there and you try to adjust the TV when the problem is happening, it turns the TV off when you enter the adjustment screen.

Anyways, what is most likely the problem? If you are gonna say power supply, please give me an idea where it is and where I would buy a replacement. I would really like to learn more about these things and I need a little help. I do have a little electronics backgound, just not with TVs. Component identification and location I need help with.

Thanks for reading. Sorry so long.

Tom

zx_600
New User

Apr 29, 2005, 5:47 AM

Post #2 of 4 (2707 views)