Sony KDL-40S2010 irritating input issue

djdaveinpa
New User

Oct 27, 2015, 7:11 PM

Post #1 of 7 (1130 views)
Shortcut
Sony KDL-40S2010 irritating input issue Can't Post

HELP!
I have this TV with an issue I'm sure can be fixed by replacing a board (guess).
Firstly, let me say I am not an electronics guru. I am an electrician by trade, and did quite a bit of soldering (not smd) in my day, so please consider me a novice.

The problem:
TV works fine for an undisclosed amount of time, then the video and sound go out like you changed input. Screen is black, with clock display showing. If I go into the menu and change back to my current input all is good until it happens again. There is no set time. can be 3 min. or an hour later. I do not own a scope, nor do I know how to operate one properly.. but I do have a good DIMM.

If someone knowledgeable could walk me through what to check, or clean, ore anything it would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I did a factory reset with no result. Also, I have not opened this tv yet.

jts1957
Veteran

Oct 27, 2015, 9:45 PM

Post #2 of 7 (1123 views)
Shortcut
Re: [djdaveinpa] Sony KDL-40S2010 irritating input issue [In reply to] Can't Post

Crack it open. It may have something to say.

-------------------------

djdaveinpa
New User

Oct 27, 2015, 10:22 PM

Post #3 of 7 (1118 views)
Shortcut
Re: [jts1957] Sony KDL-40S2010 irritating input issue [In reply to] Can't Post

I opened it up. Quite clean other than a few bug carcasses. I cannot find any apparent burnt components, or loose connections.

jts1957
Veteran

Oct 27, 2015, 10:36 PM

Post #4 of 7 (1117 views)
Shortcut
Re: [djdaveinpa] Sony KDL-40S2010 irritating input issue [In reply to] Can't Post

Puffed wheat electrolytics, prior technician's notes, flashing LED indicators or stays on correct input with keypad disconnected?

djdaveinpa
New User

Oct 28, 2015, 7:29 PM

Post #5 of 7 (1100 views)
Shortcut

The back was never opened before.