Crumbtrail TV Forums: TV Equipment: VCR Repair Forum:
JVC BR-S800U Ejects Tape Shortly After Inserting

Cappy
New User

Feb 9, 2015, 4:26 PM

Post #1 of 15 (5500 views)
Shortcut
JVC BR-S800U Ejects Tape Shortly After Inserting Can't Post

I am an industrial electrician and quite confident in my job but, honestly, I don't know anything about the internal workings of a VCR. I'm not even sure on the proper names of the parts but I will attempt to describe what's happening to the best of my ability.

I want to transfer home movies from vhs to dvd. I have a Panasonic DMR-EZ48V Combo unit that I planned on using but the VCR in that unit just produces a horizontal kind of jumpy/snowy screen. The sound is fine though. Tracking does affect the picture but doesn't clear it up. Maybe a good cleaning would fix it???

So I recently picked up a JVC BR-S800U. When I got it, it would not take in tapes. If I pushed it in all the way it wouldn't eject them until I turned the unit off and then on again. After a little searching I found that pressing the counter reset and eject button while turning the unit on would reset the unit to factory default settings???? This helped. The unit will now take tapes in, but shortly after, it ejects them.

I took the top off to see what was happening inside. After inserting the tape the unit turns the tape forward and backward about a quarter turn. Then the video head starts spinning and it pulls the tape out. There is a rubber roller that looks like it should pinch the tape against a spindle but it hardly moves. And it looks to me like the spindle needs to move up or the roller needs to move down to be able to pinch properly. Anyway, it does this twice and then ejects the tape. The tape doesn't move at all after being pulled out. I have tried multiple tapes and they play fine in the Panasonic (except for the bad picture previously mentioned) so I'm sure it's not an issue with the tape. Pressing buttons on the unit doesn't seem to have any effect.